Click to Home

Go To Search
Information & Training links

Forms & General Information

Incident or Injury Report form  DHS Resource page - brochures, fact sheets, reports
Furnace Inspection form  Paths to Permanency - informational handout
Training Log  Normalcy & Reasonable, Prudent Parenting handout
General Post Test  Reasonable & Prudent Parent Standard Guidance Sheet
MJUA Liability Insurance information Legal Steps Manual- resource for relative foster parents
MJUA Incident Report form  Resource Guide for Mandated Reporters
Mandated Reporter form

Web Resources

Minnesota Adopt  NAMI – National Alliance on Mental Illness 
NFPA -- National Foster Parent Association MACMH – MN Association for Children’s Mental Health 
PACER Center- for children with disabilities  MOFAS –Minnesota Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome 
MCCCA – Minnesota Council of Child Caring Agencies MN Mental Health 
CEED – Center for Early Education and Development  Healthy Foster Care America
Minnesota Joint Underwriters Association


Training Requirements & Resources
Foster parents are required to each complete 12 hours of training a year to meet ongoing licensing requirements.Below are the mandatory training topics required once licensed. For any online training- if you do not receive a certificate or complete a post test, be sure to document on your training log the name and date you completed the training.

Children’s Mental Health
Statute requires at least 1 hour of training a year be on children's mental health. Both video options below meet this training requirement:  

1. ADHD video 

2. Children's Mental Health trainingcomplete the self test to get credit for this training
    Children & Mental Health handout
    Post Test

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD)
Statute requires at least 1 hour of training a year be on FASD. The below video and post test meets this requirement.  

FASD video
Post Test

Sudden Unexpected Infant Death/Abusive Head Trauma (SUID/AHT)
Training on SUID/AHT is required every 5 years when caring for children age 5 and younger. You have 2 training options:

1. Develop - Use the search tool to locate online and in-person SUID & AHT classes
2. DHS approved videos - be sure to complete the training verification form located at the bottom of the page

Children And Restraint System (C.A.R.S.)
Child passenger safety C.A.R.S. training is required every 5 years if you are caring for children under age 9. Contact your licensor for a list of classes available locally. 

Smoke-Free Child Foster Home
In Minnesota, all child foster care homes must be smoke free and prevent second hand exposure to children per Minnesota Statute 260C.215, Subd. 4, 6 & 9. This includes inside the home as well as any space connected to the home, such as a garage, porch, deck, or similar space; all outdoor areas on the premises of the home when a foster child is present; and in a motor vehicle in which a foster child is transported. If a foster parent fails to provide a smoke-free environment for a foster child, the child-placing agency must ask the foster parent to comply with a plan that includes training on the health risks of exposure to secondhand smoke. Below is a link to the training video and the self study test to show completion of the video.

Smoke Free Foster Care Video

Post Test

Other Possible Training Options 
The following websites are not necessarily endorsed by Stevens County. Contact your licensor to verify if the training is appropriate and would be approved toward training hours.

De-escalation techniques video  Foster Care Institute
DHS Resource Family training videos  Karyn Purvis Institute of Child Development
MOFAS training on-demand webinars  FosterParentCollege.com