Stevens County Law Enforcement Units

West Central Swat logo

West Central SWAT logo

West Central Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT)

West Central SWAT is comprised of five county sheriff’s offices and seven police departments including Stevens, Pope, Swift, Traverse, and Big Stone counties along with the Glenwood, Starbuck, University of MN Morris, Benson, Appleton, and Wheaton police departments.  The team is divided into four sections: entry, sniper, negotiator, and medical support.  The team also includes one physician/surgeon experienced who serves as medical adviser.  The team trains on a monthly basis and is fluent in chemical munitions, less lethal, entry tactics, negotiations, firearms, along with many other high risk tactics.

Sheriff’s Posse

The Stevens County Sheriff’s Posse was formulated in 2006 and is used to assist the Sheriff’s Office with specific tasks including aiding deputies during street dances or local festivals, search and rescue, crime scene management, and many other duties. Members are trained in radio procedures, defensive tactics, and other patrol skills. Posse members are community members who possess an interest in serving their neighbors and perform their duties at virtually no cost to Stevens County. All hours worked are on a volunteer basis or are compensated through payment by event organizers.

Stevens County Sheriff's Posse badge

Stevens County Sheriff's Posse badge