District 5

Commissioner Neil Wiese

Commissioner Neil Wiese is the Stevens County District 5 County Commissioner. He serves the constituents in the City of Alberta, City of Morris P1-B, and the Townships of Eldorado, Everglade, Pepperton, Morris, and Scott. Wiese was elected to this position in 2018.

Wiese is a lifelong resident of Stevens County. He graduated from Hancock Public Schools in 1970 and from the University of Minnesota-Morris in 1974. Neil and his wife, the former Pam Greiner, currently live in Morris. They have three adult children, Kelly, Kay (Damon), and Jon, all who live in Stevens County along with three grandsons. His parents are deceased along with one brother Curt who was the Chief of Police for Morris for several years. He also has one sister, Coleen, who also lives in Stevens County with her husband Keith Koehl.

Commissioner Wiese retired in 2014. He had previously worked in the ag industry, at two local auto dealerships, taught high school for one year, was the controller for U.S. division of an international swine genetics company, a trucking company, Riverside Express, and spent his last ten years as the Stevens County Auditor/Treasurer before retiring.

Over the years, Commissioner Wiese coached various baseball, basketball, and girls’ softball teams that his children participated in. He likes to pheasant hunt with his two English Setters and occasionally goes fishing. His favorite past time used to be playing basketball and slow-pitch softball, and you now might find him on the PDT Golf Course during the summer months.

Wiese would like to hear from his constituents regarding any county concerns. He believes in transparent government and hopes people contact him with any county issues. Commissioner Wiese serves on the following committees for Stevens County: Minnesota Rural Counties, Stevens County Law Library, Veterans Service Corp, West Central Minnesota Economic Development District Board, Area Agency on Aging Board (formerly Land of the Dancing Sky), West Central Joint Powers Board on Aging, Bois de Sioux Watershed Advisory Committee, the county ditch sub-committee, Joint Ditch #2, Joint ditch #9, and Joint Ditch #10 & #11, and the Stevens County Road & Bridge Advisory Committee.